European Prize Manuel de Solà- Morales 2017


Every two years, the Manuel de Solà-Morales European Prize will recognize the best university research in the field of urbanism carried out by a student granted a PhD. Candidates can be anyone studying at a European University whose research for their doctoral thesis is grounded in urbanism. The thesis should be written in a European language and should be presented between January 1st 2012 and 31st December 2015. It should also have obtained the maximum mark according to the application procedure on The award honours the memory of Professor of Urbanism, and architect, Manuel de Solà-Morales Rubio (1939-2012) who understood his subject as a creative and intellectual activity, committed to improving cities through what he called “persistent research”.


Dr. Jean Louis Cohen, Architect, Professor of The History of Architecture and a specialist in Urbanism at New York University of Fine Arts and the Collège de France in Paris, who will act as president.

Dr. Kris Scheerlinck, Architect, Professor of Architecture and Urban Design at KU Leuven, Department of Architecture, Belgium.

Dra. Maria Rubert de Ventós, Architect, Professor of Urbanism at ETSAB, representing the Barcelona Urbanism Laboratory, who will act as secretary.

For more information, please check:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s